[NTLK] restart/reset button Was: testing testing

Forrest newton_phoenix at mindspring.com
Mon Aug 17 14:59:48 EDT 2020


With my admittedly limited understanding of how the Newton OS works, I can speculate that some sort of underlying issue is occurring after the installation, which could be the root of the issue.

In the days of Mac OS 9 (Classic), you started by holding down the SHIFT key to turn extensions off. (In Windows it was called Safe Mode.) By doing this you could see if an application was “misbehaving” (as they call it in Android OS), and troubleshoot it from there.

I don’t know exactly how this would be accomplished with Newton OS, but have to think there is a way.

Mahalo,
Forrest

Sent from my T-Mobile iPhone 11

> On Aug 17, 2020, at 5:28 AM, Fabrice Braun <newton at fabricebraun.de> wrote:
> 
> So, I hit the reset button on my eMate, and I could indeed install one Newton Program on me eMate. Hurray! 
> 
> But that was it, as soon as I tried to transfer the next one, the transfer aborted just like before. 
> 
> Fabrice 
> 
>> Am So, 16. Aug 2020, um 11:02, schrieb B:
>> It’s just like restarting a desktop: Just “reboots," doesn’t change any 
>> memories: called “soup(s)” in Newton-speak: includes both apps and data.
>> 
>> You may have noticed you don’t have to issue any SAVE commands:
>> 
>> Each time a word or other bit of data is created on the screen, it is 
>> in permanent memory – until changed by the user.
>> 
>> The manual reset button is because Newt OS tends to get a hankering for 
>> scrambled eggs now and then, whence you have to sort of treat it like 
>> the mule that won’t budge until you "get its attention” via a smart 
>> whack of a 2-by-4 to the head.
>> 
>> Fortunately, Newtie is far more responsive, gets the message with 
>> comparatively minuscule force applied to the reset button.
>> 
>> B
>> 
>> Fabrice Braun expressed hesitation in reponding to:
>>>> Have you attempted to reset the eMate by pressing the small recessed button on the underside ?
>>> 
>>> No as I'm afraid that everything will be wiped of the device except for the included apps? Or am I wrong and this won't affect the installed apps?
>> 
>> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>> 
>> http://newtontalk.net/
>> http://twitter.com/newtontalk
>> 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
> http://newtontalk.net/
> http://twitter.com/newtontalk



More information about the NewtonTalk mailing list